Shadow Cabinet

The Central Committee of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) has appointed sector Spokespersons to speak for the Party and to champion the cause of all Ghanaians, particularly the most disadvantaged in our society. Under the Party’s constitution the spokespersons constitute a Shadow Cabinet to monitor and shadow Government Ministers and Sector Ministries with a view to offer alternative proposals and solutions to the challenges facing Ghana as a nation. It may be recalled that the CPP successfully presented alternative sector ideas and proposals during 2010 under its “How The CPP Will Do It” programme.

The CPP’s Team comprise:

Dr Kwaku Osafo – Finance and Economic Planning

Mr Kwame Jantuah – Defence

Mrs Susan Adu-Amankwah – Trade and Industry

Vacant– Interior

Mrs Elizabeth Apkalu – Women and Children

Prof. Agyeman Badu Akosa – Health

Mr Prince Ahiadzro – Tourism

Dr Abu Sakara – Foreign Affairs

Ms Rhodaline Imoru-Ayarna – Employment and Social Welfare

Mr Bright Oblitei Akwetey – Justice and Attorney General

Vacant – Education

Mr Kwamena Benyarko – Environment, Science and Technology

Mr Ekow Duncan – Agriculture

Mr James Kwabena Bomfeh Jnr – Youth and Sports

Vacant – Local Government and Rural Affairs

Mr John Tabiri Abebrese – Works\Housing\Water Resources

Vacant – Energy\Mines

Ms Araba Benstsi – Enchill – Culture and Chieftancy

Dr Adolf Lutterodt – Lands/Forestry/Natural Resources

The Shadow Cabinet will be Chaired by the Chair and Leader of the party, Hon Samia Yaba Nkrumah MP. A list of Deputy Spokespersons are being considered, drawn from the Youth League of the party and in line with the Party’s commitment to empowering the youth of Ghana. The Central Committee has moved to demonstrate the Party’s intellectual capability and capacity, signalling to members, supporters, sympathisers and the general public that the CPP is indeed a national party, a strong brand, a historic brand with men and women of substance capable of running the affairs of state and to defend the interest of Ghanaians. The CPP Leadership are meeting the team who are also part of the Party’s Manifesto Committee to help finalise the CPP message to Ghanaians in the December elections. SIGNED: Nii Armah Akomfrah Director Of Communication